How do we operate ?


We have a staff team of 8 who are based at 187 Fog Lane and who have daily contact with our members by phone and in person . Operations are supported by our volunteer-led community branches.

Board of Directors

The governance of our credit union is in the hands of our Board of Directors who are elected by members at the Annual General Meeting. Each director is elected for a 3 year term, after which they are eligible for re-election. At its first meeting after the AGM the board elects principal officers: Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary and Treasurer.

The Board of Directors meets monthly. We currently have 9 directors , all of whom give their time pro bono.

Supervisory Committee

The Supervisory Committee exists to ensure that the Credit Union operates within the law, its rules and policies, and in the best interests of its members. It is similar to an internal audit department. We currently have 3 members on our Supervisory Committee.

Members are able to contact the Supervisory Committee confidentially, either by email, click here   or by letter to The  Supervisory Committee, South Manchester Credit Union,187 Fog Lane, Burnage, Manchester, M20 6FJ

Annual General Meeting

The 2015 AGM was  held  at The Place at Platt Lane – a refurbished library which is now also home to excellent community facilities including twice weekly credit union community access points. Visit their website at

Here is a picture of the Board of Directors and our Manager from our Board Development Day in July 2015

Directors Development Day July 2015